Press Release

For Immediate Release
Dec 2, 2010
Contact : Tom Paolella, Public Relations Manager  

Poppick Nursing Scholarships Awarded at Bayshore Community Hospital

Eight Bayshore Community Hospital employees were awarded the 2010 Harry M. Poppick, M.D., Memorial Scholarships.  

Holmdel, NJ - The scholarships are named for former Keyport physician Dr. Poppick, a founding member of the Bayshore Community Hospital medical staff, who was a much respected and beloved member of the hospital family. After his passing in 1990, the Poppick family established a nursing scholarship in his honor that has been awarded annually to members of the hospital staff who are enrolled in nursing programs or interested in pursuing a career in the nursing field.

This year's scholarship recipients are: Julia Boese, LPN; Coleen Calvert, R.N.; Christina Garrison, unit clerical coordinator; Toni Leeman, R.N.; Maryellen McNama, patient care associate; Debra Reinhold, R.N.; Robin Torpey, R.N.; and Katherine VanBuskirk, R.N. The scholarship recipients were presented with their awards during a special reception at the hospital. The ceremony began with a welcome address by Michael Schwartz, executive director, and the awards were presented by Donna Angelucci, MA, R.N., BC, director of education and research.

Dr. Poppick and his wife, Ruth, were a major force behind the development of Bayshore Community Hospital. During his tenure, Dr. Poppick served as president of the hospital's medical staff and as a member of the hospital's board of trustees. He was named Bayshore's Most Distinguished Physician in 1987, the year of his retirement. He had practiced medicine in Keyport for 35 years.

Dr. Poppick was esteemed by his associates and admired by all who knew him. His love of medicine and respect for education were legendary. The Poppick Nursing Scholarships are a fitting memorial of this respected physician.